Faculty of Computing and Business


Mr J Brehony - Head of Faculty

Mrs K McGloin

Mrs S Pitcher


Mr G Jones



We are a team of specialist teachers dedicated to inspiring the new generation of computer developers through an innovative, dynamic curriculum that reflects and reacts to the ever changing Digital World


Our aims are:

  • to teach a curriculum that introduces our pupils to the skills and ideas required to be a responsible user of current and emerging technologies.
  • to nurture the reflective skills and confidence needed to be an expert ICT user
  • to develop a working ethic that instinctively considers online and offline safety in all aspects of ICT use


KS3 Curriculum 2017-2018

The KS3 Computing Curriculum covers the following 5 strands:

  • Digital Literacy
  • Skills
  • Technology in The World
  • Technical Understanding
  • Safety, Security and the Law.

In all years, pupils complete an e-Safety module to ensure they are responsible ICT users, who are aware of the measures they can take to safeguard themselves both on and offline.

KS3 Curriculum OverviewKS3 Curriculum Overview

Year 7

In Year 7 Pupils complete 5 units that develop a variety of software skills including; computer game making, modelling, presenting information, analysing data and sequencing.

Yr 7 Computing CurriculumYr 7 Computing Curriculum

Year 8

In Year 8 Pupils complete 5 units that build on the skills they have developed in Year 7, and introduce them to new skills, particularly focused on computer programming and creative media. Yr 8 Computing Curriculum


KS4 Curriculum 2017-2018

Year 9

All pupils in Year 9 are given the opportunity to complete a Cambridge National qualification in ICT that is the equivalent of a GCSE grade. This course encompasses all the knowledge and understanding developed during Year 7 and 8, and transfers those skills to task based work, that is assessed both through coursework and an external examination.

Yr 9 Computing CurriculumYr 9 Computing Curriculum

Year 10 and Year 11

In Years 10 and 11 pupils can opt to take either OCR GCSE Computing or OCR GCSE ICT. Pupils follow one of these courses, depending on their preference, previous achievements and aspirations for the future.


This course includes 4 units of study that all need to be successfully completed.

  • ICT in today's world
  • Practical applications in ICT
  • ICT in context
  • Creative use of ICT

Two units are assessed in a written examination and two units are assessed using controlled assessment.

Assessment: Two written examinations each worth 30% of the total marks and two controlled assessments each worth 20% of the total marks. GCSE ICT overview

GCSE Computing

This course has 3 assessed units that must all be completed successfully.

  • Computer systems and programming
  • Practical investigation
  • Programming project

Assessment: One written examination worth 40% of the total marks and two controlled assessments each worth 30% of the total marks. GCSE Computing overview